Menu ▼

Confederation of European Baseball

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Groups for U15 Baseball World Cup revealed

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) revealed the three first-round groups for the II U15 Baseball World Cup in Baja California, Mexico on Monday through Facebook. Europe will be represented by Italy, Czech Republic, Germany and Lithuania. The tournament, which first was held in Chihuahua, Mexico in 2012 and has succeeded the U16 Baseball World Cup, will be played from July 31 to August 10, 2014.

Italy and the Czech Republic will square off against Chinese Taipei, Mexico, Brazil and Tunisia in Group A. Germany takes on USA, Japan, Panama, New Zealand and South Africa in Group B. Lithuania was slotted into Group C with Cuba, Venezuela, Australia, Argentina and Hong Kong. Venezuela is the defending champion, having defeated Cuba in the Gold Medal Game two years ago.


  • Group A: Chinese Taipei, Italy, Mexico, Czech Republic, Brazil, Tunisia
  • Group B: USA, Japan, Panama, Germany, New Zealand, South Africa
  • Group C: Cuba, Venezuela, Australia, Argentina, Hong Kong, Lithuania

The U15 European Championship will be played a couple of days prior to the U15 Baseball World Cup. Paderborn and Dortmund, Germany will host the U15 Euros from July 22 to 26, 2014. Belarus, Lithuania, Netherlands, Russia, Germany, Czech Republic, Sweden and the Ukraine will participate. The U15 European Championship Qualifier will be played at the same time in Bratislava, Slovakia with Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland, Austria, France, Serbia and Slovenia. Schedules can be found at

Last news